Beethoven Festival and Orchestral Literature.

Hey. I’ve been pretty busy, so I’m sorry for not posting more frequently.

This coming weekend is the beginning of the Beethoven festival at the SLSO. I have a ticket for this Saturday to see Beethoven 5, the Violin Concerto, and Leonore Overture No. 3. I also have a ticket for next weekend to see Beethoven 3, the 3rd Piano Concerto, and the King Stephen Overture. Should be a good time. Radu Lupu is playing the 3rd Piano Concerto. Can’t do much better than that. Also, next week, we are studying Beethoven 1 in Orchestral Lit. Lots of Beethoven. No complaints.

Speaking of Orchestral Lit, it’s one of my favorite classes this semester. Due to Dr. Davis’ recent illness, Dr. Kickasola has stepped in to teach the class. He’s doing a great job, and the class is excellent. But I’m pretty biased- there’s really no better way to spend your time than studying the score of a Haydn or Mozart symphony, as far as I’m concerned.

I didn’t go to Opera Scenes, but I hear they were pretty good.

That’s about all I got right now. Take it easy.

❤ Adam

Leave a comment